How to use Safety Check on iPhone [iOS 16]

Want to quickly review or reset access given to people or apps on your iPhone? Then try out the new Safety Check privacy feature on iOS 16.

Apple’s continuous work on privacy brings a super useful privacy feature to the iPhone. I am talking about the Safety Check feature on iOS 16. Safety Check brings a major upgrade to the Personal Safety User Guide feature which was published in late 2020 and upgraded earlier this year. The feature lets users quickly revoke location and password access from granted people.

The forth-coming iOS 16 is not just about the new lock screen and wallpaper customizations, instead, it is a feature-packed upgrade. And the Safety Check is the new security tool added in the Privacy Settings. The new feature is coming to the iPhone next month with an iOS 16 public release.

What is Safety Check?

Safety Check helps protecting your personal safety by quickly resetting access to people and apps. Up until now, users need to open each app’s settings and then revoke access, but the new privacy tool brings a quick and easy way to reset things up.

Apple describes the new feature as, “If circumstances or trust levels change, Safety Check allows you to disconnect from people, apps, and devices you no longer want to be connected to.”

This feature becomes handy in abusive relationships, although, we hope you never have to see such a situation, but just in case, you’re curious to know about Safety Check. In this guide, I have covered everything on how to use Safety Check on iPhone.

Let’s dive right into the details.

Safety Check on iOS 16 is equipped with two useful security features – Emergency Reset and Manage Sharing & Access.

how to use satefy check on ios 16

First, let’s take a look at What is Emergency Reset and how to use it.

What is Emergency Reset and How to use it?

As the name suggests, If you are in an Emergency situation, then you can use the Emergency Reset, it will immediately reset access for all people and apps, and change your Apple ID password.

Before moving to the steps, make sure your iPhone is running on iOS 16, you can join Apple’s beta program or wait for the public release. Here’s how you can use Emergency Reset.

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Swipe down and then tap on Privacy & Security.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  3. On the next screen, scroll down and select Safety Check.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  4. You can tap on the Emergency Reset option, to move ahead, the passcode or Face ID / Touch ID is required.
  5. Now tap Start Emergency Reset.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  6. The first option allows you to Reset People & Apps access, the process will take a few seconds.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  7. Tap the Reset option from the pop-up.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  8. Select the Device you want to remove access from.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  9. Once selected, tap on Remove Selected Devices.
  10. Tap on the red minus icon to remove the phone number from trusted contacts, or you can add a number if you want by tapping Add a trusted phone number button.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  11. On the next screen, you’ll get an option to update your Apple ID password, tap on the Update Password option to do it.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  12. Once done, you get option to add or remove contacts from Emergency SOS.
  13. That’s it.

While performing Safety Check, you can tap the Quick Exit button available at the top right corner, if someone trying to see on your iPhone or asks you what you are doing on your iPhone.

How to Manage Sharing & Access in Safety Check on iOS 16

If you want to customize access for specific people and apps, then you can easily do it inside Manage Sharing & Access option in Safety Check on iOS 16. Here’s how you can use it on your iPhone.

  1. Open the Safety Check privacy tool on your iPhone.
  2. Tap on Manage Sharing & Access option, it will require Face ID / Touch ID or passcode access.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  3. Select the Continue button on the next screen.
  4. On the next screen, you can see the shared access with People, select the Information tab to check any information shared in Find My, Health, Photos, and other apps.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  5. Tap Continue after reviewing the sharing access, you can select Review More People if missed something.
  6. Now select or remove access from the apps you want.
    how to use satefy check on ios 16
  7. Finally, you can select the devices from which you want to remove access from.
  8. After revoking the device access, you can add or remove contacts from trusted contacts.
  9. You can update your Apple ID password if needed, then change details in Emergency SOS.
  10. That’s it.

These simple steps in the Safety Check privacy feature will help you reset access in Find my network on your iPhone.

If you want to know anything on using Safety Check, then you can leave a comment down in the comment box.

Related Articles:

Share on:
Photo of author

By Haneet Singh

Haneet is a passionate tech writer and a consumer. He loves tinkering with the newest tech - smartphones, wearables, laptops, smart TVs, and other smart home devices. For tips, you can connect Haneet at [email protected]

Leave a Comment